Thunder Volcano

Boundless enthusiasm for something stupid

Hiatus

leave a comment »

When I started this blog, I gave myself a few rules that would hopefully help me avoid what I saw as being the pitfalls of most blogs. They were:

1. No writing about the (largely mundane) details of my everyday life. I consider blogging to be inherently self-centered, so I do my best to not make it more so. Unless I have an observation on the subject that I consider to be interesting or insightful, I assume you don’t care what I had for lunch or which video game I’m currently playing.
2. No metaposting (i.e. no writing about the blog itself). For the most part, I just find this to be pointless – that’s why I didn’t write a “Hello World, this is what my blog is about” post. There’s not really any new information being presented, and those posts tend to become inaccurate pretty quickly most of the time anyway. If you want to know what this blog is about, read it. I toyed with the idea of putting in a note about how I’m using made-up names for everybody, but I figured most people would realize pretty quickly that my name isn’t Baron Volcano.
3. No apologies for lack of posting. This is really just a combination of #1 and #2, but it’s common enough elsewhere that it warrants its own rule. I estimate that a full quarter of all blog posts are to the general effect of “sorry I haven’t been posting much, I’ve been really busy at work lately.” It really doesn’t add anything to write about how you haven’t been writing.

I mention this because, as you may have figured out already, I’m breaking all of those rules today. Right now, in fact. I do not intend to make a habit of this.

In case you haven’t noticed, I haven’t posted a single damn thing for three months or so*. On the off chance that I have readers who don’t know me personally (and thus haven’t heard about this through the grapevine in one form or another), this hiatus started when I lost my job in December. The details of exactly how/why this happened are too stupid to get into in any real detail, but suffice to say it wasn’t something I’d been expecting. After spending a week or two in what could be readily described as a “drunken stupor,” I came to the conclusion that the best use of my time and money would be to drive around the country visiting breweries for two months. At some point during those two months I lost my other job as well.

One question I got a lot on my trip was “are you blogging this?” I obviously didn’t, but that’s because I intend to write a book about it. I figure that, if nothing else, maybe other people can learn from the mistakes I made along the way (free tip: don’t take the scenic route through the mountains in January). I intend to publish the book under my real name, but I’m going to continue using ridiculous made-up names when I post on this site because I find it funny.

I won’t promise that I’ll be keeping to any kind of regular posting schedule now that I’m back, but I would imagine that I’ll be putting up more stuff than I have been recently (that’s right: more than none. I set the bar high for myself). In reviewing the notes from my trip I’ve found a few things that I already know won’t make it to the book (some are too topical, some are too opinionated, etc.), so those will likely land here if anywhere. There are also a few things that I wrote before losing my job (I edit the hell out of pretty much everything I write, which I suppose is a fourth rule I established that I’m not breaking today), and I’ll probably be putting those up whenever I get around to editing them.

In short: sorry I haven’t posted in three months, but I’ve been really busy getting drunk across America. I’ll totally try to write more.

*If WordPress is to be believed, my inactivity has somehow caused an increase in readership. I do not know how to interpret that.
Written by Baron Volcano

03/09/2011 at 2:53 pm

Posted in Hootenanny

Leave a Reply

