Thunder Volcano

Boundless enthusiasm for something stupid

Thought for the Day: Retro Edition

leave a comment »

This week’s Thought For The Day ended up taking on a bit of a life of its own and is thus taking some time to properly write up, so I figured I would present you with a Blast from the Past in the meantime.  I was able to get a surprisingly comprehensive answer for this one courtesy of my brother, who at the time was in the med school portion of his MD/PhD program.  What follows is the transcript of the email conversation we had:

Date: 11/30/2006
From: Baron Volcano
To: Duke Volcano
Subject: Medical Question
OK I figure since you’re in a hospital all the time you might be able to help me with this (I may have asked you this before, I’m not sure).  I was thinking about vampires and I was wondering if they prefer people with particular blood types, like does A taste different from O and so on.  Any ideas?  Also, what exactly is the difference between the blood types?  I don’t really know what it is that makes them different.

Date: 12/6/2006
From: Duke Volcano
To: Baron Volcano
Subject: Re: Medical Question
So the difference between blood types is the antigens (umm…pieces of proteins or sugars or stuff that could be bound by an antibody) that are on the surface. So if you are A you have the A antigen on the surface etc. The same thing goes for the Rhesus factor which is what gives someone the bloodtype of +/-. So the Rhesus antigen I am pretty sure is a protein so I dont think the vampires would really care about that. But the A/B/O antigens are actually sugar residues on the outside of the cell. So I think that AB would be the sweetest because it has the extra sugar residues. O would be the least sweet because it doesnt have any of these antigens. So, if I was a vampire I would prefer AB. I dunno.

***

I later found out that he actually surveyed a number of people at his hospital on this topic just to try and give me a good answer.  Much appreciated, big brother.

Written by Baron Volcano

09/16/2010 at 7:34 pm

Leave a Reply

